Travel – Summary

So… if you’re keeping up at home, I’m now sitting in India.  Yes, I left our new home in Tokyo to visit India for a week.  It’s not easy, leaving the girls behind in our adopted home, but I think they’ve had a reasonable adjustment period and will be okay for this time.

The trip was pretty lengthy – mentally it seems like it should be a pretty short trip.  I’m already in Asia, we’re only 3.5 hours time different, etc.  Unfortunately, that doesn’t mean much.  I was in the air for 11.5 hours.  If you count all the time I was busy travelling, it ends up a lot more… 18 or 19 hours I guess.  Of course it’s more coming from the states because that’s already ~17 hours in the air.  Whatever the cause, it’s a lot.  An airport bus at 0730, flight from Narita to Kuala Lumpur at 1040, almost 7 hours in flight, 3 hours layover, another 4.5 hours in flight, then a car ride for 3 or 4 hours to the hotel in Pune.

I’m working on a more detailed post about my flight, but all in all, it was long but I’m safe.  I’ve gotten some sleep, plenty of food and I’ll be going out in an hour or so for a bit of trying to play golf.  We’ll see how that goes.  Tonight might have me visiting with old friends and I’ll be doing a little catch-up work ahead of a busy week.

More (and much longer) to come.

One response to “Travel – Summary

  • andra

    I am dying to go to India. Just read this book set there, Shantaram.
    I want to see pics. Didn’t like the travel post. Well I read it, but I felt streesed about your travels just reading your blog. 🙂

    Glad you made it. Maybe the return will be much nicer!

Leave a Reply

