Yup, home alone.

Today was my first day alone with Olivia. Scary stuff, that. It wasn’t as bad as I feared it could be (we both lived… it’s a start). She has made it quite clear that she doesn’t care to be woken up, even if she needs to eat. She has also made it known that she doesn’t care to go back to sleep once she’s done eating or getting changed or if she’s tired. It’s absolutely hilarious to watch her fuss while trying to suck on a pacifier. She sounds like one of the Three Stooges – “nyuk, nyuk, nyuk”. It’s all I can do not to laugh and undo all my brilliant work at soothing her. Brilliant work = burp, rock, change, and/or feed her.

My sweet Aunt Lynda dropped by today to check on me. She brought a magnificent meal for dinner. Pot roast, mac & cheese, and (personal fav here) warm apple crisp. All in all a killer combo made even better by the fact that I didn’t have to try and cook today. I did empty the diaper champ (again, thanks Unkie Munkee), dump the trash, empty the dishwasher, fill the dishwasher, and clean all the bottles. I did not ever make out of my pj’s. I did wash my face and brush my teeth so there is success at not stinking to high heaven. Tomorrow, a shower! Maybe. We do have a doctor’s appointment for our little monkey face.

By the way, she just keeps getting cuter. I know I sound absolutely disgusting and very sappy. It’s also the honest truth. I can’t wait until she’s old enough to be embarrassed by my sentimentality.

4 responses to “Yup, home alone.

  • Uncle Munkee

    I just noticed something. In one of your Lilypie.com banners, it says “Susan has been the food for 3 weeks & 1 day.” Umm.. I thought you guys stopped breast feeding?

  • Steph

    Glad you survived the first day!

  • Ian

    Munkee – Susan is still pumping and Olivia has occasionally eaten breast milk, so technically its still appropriate.

  • Elynka

    Staying at home alone is a great chance for you to be able to make some mistakes and no one is around to see you acting like a first time mom. I also think that you did better than I did on my first day. When Kaelan was asleep I was not doing chores. I was sleeping too!

Leave a Reply

