Isn’t it December, yet?

I have settled into the waiting game.  I’m ready for Olivia now, but she has some baking time left.  According to the doc, she will gain 1/2 a pound a week from here out.  She was 3 lbs. 12 oz. at the last appointment so she should be around 7 lbs at her due date.  I think I can handle that.  She should also be somewhere around 20 inches in length, which I can also handle.

What I can’t handle is how antsy I am for her to be here.  I’m ready to be a mommy, rather than a pregnant woman.  Grr.  And as ready as I am, I think Ian is even more so.  He talks to Olivia all the time.  It’s pretty amusing/endearing to see him conversing with her via my bellybutton.

We still have some sprucing up to do around the house and we need to get everything in its proper place in the nursery, but for the most part we’re ready.  Tonight, I’m going to start putting together the bag we will take to the hospital for the big day (or night).  We have her going home outfit washed and put together.  I can’t put what I’ll be wearing home in there as it would leave me essentially naked now.  (I’m packing maternity pants for the outfit because I think the vision of myself walking out of there in my old jeans is quite delusional).

I have another doctor’s appointment this afternoon.  No U/S this time so it should be short and sweet.  All that’s left to do is count down the days til I’m out of work.

3 responses to “Isn’t it December, yet?

  • Ed Craigge

    One of life’s simplist prayers is “Lord give me patience and give it to me right now.”

  • Sheila-Craigge

    Susan,
    Do you know how you get patience? By going through trials and tribulations. So my prayer is for Olivia to be born at the right time and for you to enjoy these next few weeks with rest and peace.
    Love Mom

  • Ed Craigge

    Galatiins 5:22 and Colossians 1:11 Patience is a gift of the Holy Spirit

Leave a Reply

