Major decision? Made.

We’ve known since Susan returned to work after her bed-rest stint that she’d eventually be quitting for at least a year.  What we hadn’t discussed was when this would occur – it was just “one day.”

With her energy stores beginning to dwindle (poor sleep at night), her office environment beginning to get unpredictable (people leaving / being asked to leave), and other various factors, we figured it was time to decide on a date.

That date is November 2nd.  Susan now has one month of employment remaining, as she officially turned in her notice yesterday.  She now has a date to focus on for taking a break from her daily grind.

However, she also has a date to obsess over – never in her adult life has she been unemployed.  On November 2nd she will be completely relying on someone else to provide the income necessary to survive.

We talked, briefly, about the possibilities after Olivia has arrived.  I figure, if she’s interested, that I might be able to work one day a week from home, allowing Susan to go to work that one day.  This, of course, wouldn’t be until 6 months or so down the line, and only if I can get the details worked out on my side.  Plus, she’ll need to find a place that is okay with her working one day a week, but my understanding of the nursing industry is that this likely won’t be a big deal.

6 responses to “Major decision? Made.

  • Uncle Munkee

    “On November 2nd she will be completely relying on someone else to provide the income necessary to survive.”

    You make it sound like the end of the world. She won’t be unemployed. She’ll be very much full-time employed as a mother!

  • Ian

    Those are basically her words, not mine. To quote her:

    “You know what, it’s kinda scary. I’ve never quit a job without having another lined up or at least the idea of where I’m likely to go. I’m stepping into the unknown. I haven’t been unemployed since the day I turned 17. Just freaky.”

  • Elynka

    Once the baby gets here then she will forget all about that for at least the first few months. It is only truly then when you can say, yes, I want to go back or, no way, I am staying home. I thought going to work after Kaelan was just what people do. I went back for about 4 months, and I realized that my place is at home, and I am lucky that with a little bit of scraping Chris can offer me and my children such a wonderful gift.

  • Ed Craigge

    I think you’re both doing the right thing. I think I would consider asking for a year leave of absence instead of turning in a resignation. Technically, you’re still employed, but not working. It holds the door open if you chose to go back and, if you choose to find other employment, you technically have a job but are just searching for another one that “fits” your current situation better.

    A joke for you. A young man was going to propose marriage to his sweety and was asking her father’s permission. The father looked at the young man and asked him if he was financially able to support a family. The young man looked at the father and said, “I only intend to support your daughter, the rest of you are pretty much on your own.” Well, I thought it was kinda funny anyway.

  • Susan

    Daddy-o, I had considered just asking for a year leave but with all the upheaval at work it wasn’t a reasonable idea. I have been assured from several levels within the company that they will take me back any way they can get me.

    I’m still a little freaked out that I will be gainfully unemployed in a month, but when I wake up in the mornings these days and it’s all I can do to drag my butt out of bed… well the idea gets better and better.

  • Sheila Craigge

    Hurray! I’m glad you quit! Makes me feel better about being gainfully unemployed most of my life! No, no, I do think that at a certain time in a Mom’s life you probably do need to work outside of the home. There are several moms at church that are nurses and those 1-3 days a month jobs work quite well for them. On Wednesday before I read your note about the job, I was at church watching the little toddler day care children go about their daily routines, and secretly praying that my little grandchildren would not have to go that route. As good as Central is at loving babies, its still so very hard for them at times. To think that my little ones would be in the care of total strangers was though provoking. I do hope that you will be able to stay at home(both of you) as much as possible with your children. They are little for such a very short time. However, children do need structure to be happy and secure. Don’t wait 20 years to learn this like I did! They also learn good social skills at preschools and Mother’s Day Out programs. But most of the really important things you will teach them. Play and pray with them often and tell them that Jesus loves them very much. I really didn’t do enough of that with you guys. I plan to be a good grandmother to Olivia. Remember fun is spelled MESS! Love

Leave a Reply

