A few observations…

First – no sign of snow so far. 😦

Second, the light fixture in the nursery uses a fluorescent bulb, not a standard one.  Its an odd shaped plug, too.  I don’t know that we’ll have many options for different bulbs that cast a less artificial light.

Third, it seems that I didn’t consider the height of the new fridge.  It seems it’ll be about an inch or two taller than the cabinets over the fridge.  I’m not going to try to do anything just yet – I want the fridge to actually show up and prove itself to be too tall.  I have, however, taken a look at what we could do and just how we’ll remove them if need be.

Fourth – we played more music for Olive today.  She calmed down tremendously, again, when we played Lyle Lovett for her.  We gave her some music from the book that Angela gave us, Dog Express – it was an Allison Kraus tune, and then a tune called Dragonfire.  We then played Lyle, John Coltrane, Louis Armstrong, and even a little bit of Justin Wilson comedy! 🙂   I got to watch her wiggle a bit and felt her move occasionally.

Fifth, Garrett’s project management tool is pretty handy.  I think we’ll be able to keep up with “the list” pretty well this way.  Of course it would be just as easy to use paper, but we would likely end up misplacing that. 🙂

Sixth, we finished our little laundry for Olivia – that stuff is tiny!

8 responses to “A few observations…

  • Uncle Munkee

    I accidentally shrunk one of Justin’s sweaters when I was cleaning his room. You can have it if you want more tiny clothes!

  • Sheila Craigge

    Well, I was really sweating when my refrigerator came. I had an inch and it did fit, but it sure was close. I’m sure you can raise the cabinet. They look like they have been moved up before. All you have to do is rehang higher and paint. Just use your Mom’s wisdom about the studs and super bolts!!! Love

  • Ed Craigge

    Fluoescent bulbs last a long time. I’d find and buy a couple; they don’t take up much space and they don’t spoil. Raising the kitchen cabinet an inch or too really is pretty easy and not much of a challenge…I’d go for lowering the floor. Just kidding. It may be simpler to just modify the bottom of the cabinet directly above the frig though.

  • Ian

    Sheila – I don’t have the inch… its an inch taller than the current cabinets. 😦

    Ed – I looked at the cabinets (ask Susan about finding me sitting on top of the fridge!) and it looks reasonably easy to move. It will, however, create a visual train wreck because of the nice crown molding, etc.

    I did consider the idea of actually cutting bottom part of that cabinet, but I don’t know that it is possible without destroying the integrity of the cabinet. 😦

  • Sheila craigge

    Well, do you know what you will do with the refrig? Swap for shorter or remove entire cabinet? I thought the cabinet over the stove was tall and the other side(the one not over the current refrig)was lower. If you raise the refrig side by an inch or so it will probably look o.k. If there is molding at the bottom, you may be able to take it off. With the refrig so close, it probably won’t be obvious. Love

  • Auntie Amy

    Since we got it through a deal from my work, I’m not sure if he can just swap the fridge. From the way I understood it, there had to be something wrong with the actual fridge for a return and you can’t take it back to a store since stores are unaware such a deal exists. I suppose its one of those risks you take for getting such a good offer direct. : /

  • Sandy

    When you really think about it, how useful is the cabinet above the refrigerator? I don’t even know what’s in mine. They are hard to get to and seem to be pretty useless except for storing things you don’t expect to see again until you move. I’d just take the cabinet down and paint the wall.

  • Ed Craigge

    It’s something to think about after vacation. The possibilities aren’t endless, but they are rather extensive

Leave a Reply

