A plea!

So since Susan is going to be shackled to the house for the next 8 weeks, we’re putting out a call to all our friends and family – Susan needs books! Books, books, all sorts of books. She’s an awful big fan of those trashy romance novels, but I’ve got a feeling that over the next 8 weeks she’ll read darn near anything.

At the same time, we’re likely going to renew our subscription to NetFlix so that she can switch between books and movies from time to time. Too bad she isn’t in school right now – she sure would get a lot accomplished!

I, on the other hand, will be running around much like I have been since I got home today. I’ve planted the vegetable garden (4 tomato plants, 6 okra, and 9 bell pepper), emptied the dryer, washed and dried another load of clothes, unloaded and loaded the dishwasher, and shortly I’ll come up with some dinner.

I blame this all on Steph, of course. I have a sneaking suspicion that Susie and Steph have spoken in private recently, wherein Steph laid out just how wonderful its been having her husband handle everything while she was on bed rest.

In other news, we’ve decided, solidly, that we will not be traveling to Japan this summer. While we both agree that it is disappointing, we’d rather save the money in addition to not worrying about her ability to hike around the very hot Japanese towns. We’ll get there one day… or at least we’ll get back to Epcot. šŸ˜‰

6 responses to “A plea!

  • Sheila

    Ian, you are so good to Susan. Thank you for being such a caring and wonderful husband. I’m glad that I do not have to brood over the Japan trip. Ed and I spent many a vacation together and we really did enjoy that, but I think we agree that the very most fun we had was sharing the U.S.A. with our children. Just remember that you will have some grandparents that will happily enjoy looking after the babes in the motel/hotel kiddie pool while the grown-ups play!Love!!!

  • Steph Hansen

    I had nothing to do with it! This is my version of hell! However, as I probably am the person who feels the most empathy for her (and Jay for you!), I will send Jay in to work tomorrow with a bunch of trashy novels and magazines for her.

  • Ian

    Deeply, deeply appreciated.

  • Laurie

    We are getting ready to move all of our books downstairs. I’ll pick some out and bring them over this weekend. Let me know if there’s anything else I can do.

  • Christie

    Blockbuster is SO MUCH better than NetFlix! All the benefits of Netflix PLUS the instant gratification of trading movies in at the store for free!!

    I may have some books I can spare.. Actually, I KNOW I have a box of two in the garage. Gimme your addy again, I’ll try to do it right this time. šŸ˜‰

  • Ian

    Sure, trading the movie at the store may be great, but that requires you to actually drive to the store. Once I’m home, I want to stay home. I honestly don’t have a clue as to where the nearest Blockbuster is to our house.

    I’ll email you the address… and we’ll work out paying for the shipping. I imagine sending books will be a little costly!

Leave a Reply

